Letter to ‘Ghalib’ – Son Of Mohammad Afzal Guru

Dear Ghalib,
Hope my letter finds you ‘victorious’ as your name translates to. It really is hard for me to write to you but I will try at least, to draw my emotions and love on paper.
Some years ago, on this day, your father was judicially murdered by a country well-known as the world’s largest democracy. The facts of his case were disproved to in vain arguments of ‘collective conscience’ and ‘national interest’.
As you know as well, how your mother and you were denied the last meeting with your father, how the execution letter sent by the government of India reached you two days after the execution and how the corpse of the martyr was denied by the government of India.
Anyway, I am not writing this to remind you of the cruel show of the Indian state but to tell you a few tales.
As a student, I have learnt to be inventive. I try to create something out of the books, the real life experiences, in the middle of the night, during the blaze of the day. Likewise, I tried to write on the case of your father viz, the case origin, facts, judicial developments following the case, etc. but I must tell you that I always draw blank because I begin to think of you. It is not that I succumb to fears and pressures but to emotions and annoyance. By and by, I struggle to write.
Once I discussed the case with a friend of mine who lives in London. Due to his charisma, I thought I would yield better results and suggestions as he shared the thoughts on social networking sites. But it was all in vain. Perhaps it is the strange nature of the case or maybe they too think of you.
You may on this day be remembered of the brutish complexion of the killers of your father and it may lead you to a state of despondency, as human nature is. But remember that hope sustains you and me, the universe.
Back in my university, one of my professors approached me once to prepare an analysis on cases following Afzal’s hanging. In one of the cases it was held,”Unexplained delay is a ground for commuting death penalty to life sentence.” In another case, it was held that there will be no Afzal Guru like execution(concerning the gap between the communication of rejection and actual execution of the death sentence.) I chose not to write. Was my writing going to bring back your father? No!
In these hard and sensitive times, it is impossible to see what lies ahead for us. One seems locked and the question that nags one’s mind is,”Where should I go?” And the answer to this question should be given by your bravery to move ahead in life.
My grandfather told me once,”Do you know why most of the brilliant people fail to deliver(through their lives)?” He always talked to the point during his conversations and I being a kid those days straightaway answered,”No.”. And he said in response,”They stick to the tough times of despair in lives and ultimately fall to life’s challenges.”
You are young and energetic. Build “Ghalib” as life approaches. There are a lot of promises in you. Do not forget that you are not alone.
Be happy.
Much love,
Aarif M. Rather
( Published here-
https://mobile.authintmail.com/2015/opinion/letter-afzal-gurus-son-ghalib-63419 )
image
( Plus –
http://www.greaterkashmir.com/news/2015/Feb/10/a-letter-to-ghalib-13.asp )
image

Leave a Reply

